Underneath

I would fly across this covert plane

If I could all but lift my wings

The air is crisp, clouds sift across the sky

Grass dips and flows through an unbridled expanse

With a breeze that lifts the mortal realm to the heavens above

The clarity that shows me there is more in this world

Is the same curse that keeps me here

Weighed to earth

Bound to desire

You don’t know what captivity is

Until you know of freedoms taste

I’ve tasted you

I know your feel

And it makes my shackles

Burn into my wrists

The mountainous landscape I see with my bloodshot eyes

Dragged to the ground, barely able to lift

Reminds me of the taste of air

That filled my lungs with something else

Than this hate that leaves me here

Wishing I could just break free

So I could reach my chest

To slash it open

Because I would end this

I would stop you

I would reign the air

I would light a path

I would end this, I promise

I would fly across this covert plane

If I could all but lift my wings

Leave a Reply

